Hi everyone!  I would like to introduce myself and tell you a bit more about me.  My name is Star Ruedas and I am a Licensed Social Worker (LSW) in the State of Illinois.  I completed my Bachelor of Arts degree (B.A.) in Psychology at Northeastern Illinois University in Chicago in 2016 and went on to earn my Masters degree in Social Work (M.S.W.) from the Jane Addams School of Social Work at the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2019.  I have had the privilege to work as an intern at Youth & Opportunity United (Y.O.U.) in Evanston, Illinois.  Y.O.U. provides social services for at-risk children and adolescents.  In this capacity, I offered mentorship and guidance to the youth in order to help them achieve their goals.  I also interned at Orchard Village providing social work assistance to developmental delayed adults mostly focused on vocational counseling and outplacement.

Since graduation, my career has primarily focused on adults and elderly who are coping with mental illness.  I have served as an Administrative and Social Work Assistant at three different skilled nursing facilities since 2015 – present.  In this capacity, I have provided a variety of clinical and support services including individual counseling, case management, and overseeing behavior management plans.  My experience so far has been broad-based.  I have worked with children, adolescents, adults and geriatrics.  I feel qualified and comfortable to work on issues of anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, grief issues, adjustment problems, job uncertainty, financial stress, relationship problems, family tension, defiance in children or teenagers, trauma, and immigration / refugee issues.  My therapeutic approach is person-centered and affirming.  I borrow techniques from Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Motivational Interviewing, Mindfulness, Trauma-Informed Care, Multicultural Theory, and Positive Psychology to tailor an evidence-based treatment plan specifically tailored to my clients’ needs.  I am passionate about social justice and reform issues and especially enjoy working with marginalized or excluded populations such as immigrants, refugees, LGBTQIA+, and persons of color (POC).

I was born and raised in the Philippines and immigrated to the United States when I was fourteen.  I am a native speaker of the Filipino dialects of Tagalog and Visaya.  I am married and reside with my husband in the near North Suburbs of Chicago.  I enjoy spending time with my friends and family and also feel most at home in nature.  We go camping at least once per year and have visited many National Parks in Colorado, Wyoming, and Utah and hope to see many more.  I am an animal lover and hope some day to own a teacup dog.

I look forward to being of service to you!